Expensive Words

All that is fair goes wrapped around my throat
You miss the meaning that took its place,
Wrinkle the water for things to float

My mouth offers you a quick and naked smile
The valley on my lips is love as much as necessary,
It’s the honest words you haven’t seen in a while
It’s also weakness so we’ll both just have to agree

But some days it just spills out of your eyes,
And I can only imagine that you’re just me,
Things you’d tell me but can’t afford to say, like

I’m a little lost, would you understand?
I turn around, off to another mystery land
Is it too much to ask if there’s anything you can do
Are you someone safe, I’m sorry it goes straight to you

We talk so plain today, we talk so plain
On our shelves, in our rooms,
Words hung, just wasting away

We talk so plain today, we talk so plain
And we save expensive words
To talk another day

Scraping By Picture

Leave a Reply

